Description
PrymaLab · Research Use Only
Preloaded Autoinjector | AOD-9604 | 3ml Pen | 6mg
Disulfide-bridged hGH fragment analogue in solution · 3ml at 2mg/ml · No reconstitution step
The aod 9604 pen is a preloaded 3ml research autoinjector holding 6mg of AOD-9604 in solution at 2mg/ml, which is 1.10 mM of the 16-residue hGH C-terminal analogue. One intramolecular disulfide between Cys7 and Cys14 governs everything that happens in the cartridge, and because the molecule has only two cysteines, the failure route is not rearrangement but covalent dimerisation.
Specification Table
| Property | Value |
|---|---|
| Device format | Preloaded autoinjector pen, glass cartridge |
| Fill volume | 3 ml |
| Concentration | 2 mg/ml |
| Total compound in device | 6 mg |
| Molar concentration | 1.10 mM (1100 µM) |
| Compound | AOD-9604, [Tyr]-hGH(177-191), the lipolytic C-terminal domain of human growth hormone with an added N-terminal tyrosine |
| CAS number | 221231-10-3, commonly cited but unverified against the CAS registry. Confirm before use in records |
| Molecular formula | C78H123N23O23S2 (oxidised, disulfide-closed form) |
| Molecular weight | 1815.1 g/mol (average). The reduced dithiol is 2 Da higher |
| Amino acid sequence | Tyr-Leu-Arg-Ile-Val-Gln-Cys-Arg-Ser-Val-Glu-Gly-Ser-Cys-Gly-Phe (YLRIVQCRSVEGSCGF), free-acid C-terminus |
| Disulfide | One, Cys7 to Cys14 in the 16-mer numbering, equal to Cys182-Cys189 in human growth hormone numbering |
| Solution appearance | Not published on the product record. An intact solution of this peptide is clear and colourless |
| Reconstitution required | None. Supplied as solution |
| Excipient system | Not published on the product record. Confirm against certificate of analysis |
| Solution pH | Not published on the product record |
| Storage | 2-8°C, protected from light. Do not freeze |
| Light sensitivity | Moderate. Disulfides photolyse under ultraviolet light to thiyl radicals; Tyr1 can photo-oxidise |
| Solution stability | Not established over device shelf life. No AOD-9604 forced-degradation study located |
| Net charge near pH 7 | Approximately plus one, from two arginines against one glutamate and the free acid terminus |
| Salt form | Not published on the product record. Research material is typically acetate or trifluoroacetate |
| Purity | Per lot-specific certificate of analysis |
| Regulatory status | No approved product anywhere. Development discontinued in 2007. Treated as prohibited in sport |
AOD 9604 Solution Stability: What Changes Once the Cartridge Is Filled?
One bond does most of the work: the Cys7-Cys14 disulfide holds a 16-residue loop closed, and in water that bond can be reduced, exchanged with a neighbouring molecule, or eliminated altogether, while the rest of the sequence sits comparatively quiet.
The sequence is YLRIVQCRSVEGSCGF, with a free acid at the C-terminus. There is no methionine, no tryptophan, no asparagine and no aspartate, so the usual fast peptide routes are missing. Gln6 can deamidate to glutamate at +0.98 Da, glutamine being far slower at this than asparagine. Tyr1 and Phe16 can oxidise under light or trace metal. Everything else that matters is sulfur chemistry.
Thiol-disulfide exchange needs only a trace of free thiol to start, and once started it propagates: a reduced molecule attacks the disulfide of an intact one, opening it and generating a fresh thiol that attacks the next. Trace reductant in a buffer, trace copper or iron cycling through a redox couple, or ultraviolet photolysis producing thiyl radicals will each supply the initiating thiol. The peptide also carries the base-catalysed route, beta-elimination of the disulfide to dehydroalanine and a persulfide, which runs faster as pH rises above neutral and is the reason an alkaline formulation is a poor choice for this molecule.
With only two cysteines in the chain, one consequence follows that does not apply to multi-disulfide peptides. Scrambling cannot produce an alternative intramolecular isomer, because there is only one pair to connect. Exchange therefore has nowhere to go except between molecules, so the products are covalent dimers and higher oligomers rather than misfolded monomers. That makes the degradation profile unusually legible: a covalent dimer sits at 3630 Da, exactly twice the monomer mass, because two interchain bonds replace two intrachain bonds with no change in atom count. Reduction to the open dithiol adds 2 Da. Both are visible by mass spectrometry to anyone who looks for them.
Fibrillation is not the concern here. The peptide is short, hydrophilic and net positive near neutral pH, so amyloid-type assembly is unlikely; the aggregation that matters is covalent. Adsorption is moderate rather than extreme, since two arginines against one glutamate give a small positive charge that limits, without eliminating, loss to glass and polymer at low concentration.
There is no approved AOD-9604 product in any jurisdiction, so no reference formulation exists to copy. Development stopped in 2007, which means no regulator ever reviewed an excipient list, a pH, a preservative or a stability dataset for this molecule. Everything above is inference from disulfide chemistry, and no AOD-9604 forced-degradation study was located in the peer-reviewed literature.
What Does the AOD 9604 Pen Deliver Per Increment?
Six milligrams in 3 ml is 2 mg/ml, which is 1.10 mM at a molecular weight of 1815.1 g/mol, so a 0.01 ml increment carries 20 micrograms (11.0 nanomoles) and a 0.1 ml increment carries 200 micrograms (110 nanomoles).
The arithmetic runs in one direction only: a graduation is a volume, and mass follows from concentration. On an insulin-pattern scale one unit is 0.01 ml, so ten units is 0.1 ml and 200 micrograms. Whether this device is graduated that way is not on the product record and should be confirmed before any figure above is used, and the peptide calculator handles other graduations.
Against the published work the fill is concentrated. Adipocyte lipolysis and lipogenesis assays of the kind underlying Heffernan 2001 and Ng 2000 operate at micromolar to nanomolar peptide, so a 1.10 mM stock sits roughly a thousand to a million times above them, and any in vitro comparison starts with a long serial dilution. The rodent studies dosed by body weight in mg/kg rather than by fixed concentration, so there is no published concentration to match. No validated human figure exists to benchmark against, because the compound was never approved.
Does AOD 9604 Come in a Pen?
Yes, as a research-use-only preloaded device such as this one, and no as a licensed medicine: AOD-9604 has never been approved anywhere, so every preparation on the market is a vendor fill rather than a pharmaceutical product.
Can you get AOD 9604 in a pen with a regulator’s label on it? No, and the reason is historical rather than technical. Metabolic Pharmaceuticals took the compound through six clinical studies and a 24-week obesity trial that did not separate from placebo, and development was discontinued in 2007. Nothing has been filed since. The AOD 9604 pen form on this site is a laboratory article, and the fields to confirm before ordering any such device are listed on the preloaded autoinjector category page.
One identity point belongs here rather than in a footnote. AOD-9604 is not the plain hGH Fragment 176-191 that the same catalogue also sells; the two differ by a single N-terminal residue, tyrosine in place of phenylalanine. That substitution is worth 15.99 Da, which is the same mass difference as a single oxygen atom, so an intact-mass measurement alone cannot separate AOD-9604 from an oxidised batch of the plain fragment. Sequencing or co-elution against a characterised reference is the only way to tell them apart, a point most listings skip.
AOD 9604 Pen vs Vial: Which Format Suits the Work?
The aod 9604 pen vs vial choice comes down to disulfide handling: a sealed cartridge filled once under controlled conditions keeps the peptide away from repeated air exposure, while a lyophilized vial lets the laboratory choose a buffer, degas it, and control the redox environment the disulfide sits in.
The pen suits repeated equal draws from one lot across weeks. Each reconstitution of a vial is an opportunity to introduce dissolved oxygen, trace metal from a diluent, or a reducing contaminant, and for a single-disulfide peptide those are the exact inputs that start thiol exchange. A cartridge removes the transfer step and fixes the concentration at 2 mg/ml. The general comparison is set out in the pen versus vial article.
The lyophilized AOD-9604 5mg vial suits work where buffer composition is part of the experiment, where a chelator such as EDTA is wanted to suppress metal-catalysed thiol chemistry, or where the starting concentration should be far below 1.10 mM. A dry cake also stops the clock in a way a solution cannot, which matters more for a disulfide peptide than for a plain one. The nasal spray presentation answers a different question again, since it fixes both concentration and delivered volume.
AOD 9604 cost is on each product record and is not quoted here because it moves. The comparison worth running is cost per milligram of peptide confirmed by certificate, and for this molecule the certificate should state the disulfide state as well as the purity, since a lot that is 98% pure by area can still be part reduced. The AOD-9604 background article covers what else to ask for.
What the Product Record Does Not State
Four fields decide what this solution actually is, and none of them is published: the excipient system, the pH, the fill date, and whether the peptide was filled and released in the fully oxidised state.
The disulfide state is the one specific to this compound. A certificate reporting purity by reversed-phase area percent does not report how much of the material is closed-loop monomer, because the reduced form and the covalent dimer are separate peaks that a purity number can hide inside or exclude by integration window. Requesting the non-reduced peak assignment, or a free-thiol figure, answers a question that a purity percentage does not.
The pH matters twice, for beta-elimination above neutral and for the deamidation rate at Gln6. The excipient system matters because a chelator, an antioxidant or a preservative each changes the redox environment the disulfide sits in, and because whatever is present enters any assay the solution is added to. The fill date sets where the device sits on a stability curve nobody has published for AOD 9604 solution stability. Ask for all four against the lot certificate of analysis before quantitative work.
Verifying the AOD 9604 Pen and Confirming the Disulfide
Inspect the solution against a white background before each draw: it should be clear and colourless with no haze or particulate, though the informative checks for this peptide are analytical rather than visual, because covalent dimerisation produces no visible change at 2 mg/ml.
Three measurements cover the chemistry. Intact-mass LC-MS should show an average of 1815.1 Da; the reduced form appears at 1817.1 Da, +2 Da, and the covalent dimer at 3630 Da. Ellman’s assay with 5,5′-dithiobis(2-nitrobenzoic acid) quantifies free thiol directly by absorbance at 412 nm, and an intact preparation should show close to none. Reversed-phase HPLC separates monomer from dimer and from the reduced species, which usually elutes later than the compact closed-loop form.
Ultraviolet quantification is possible but weak. The molecule has one tyrosine and no tryptophan, so its extinction coefficient at 280 nm is roughly 1,600 per molar per centimetre including the cystine contribution, giving an absorbance near 1.8 for the neat 1.10 mM solution in a 1 cm path. That is enough for a content check against a reference standard and not enough to detect a loss of a few percent, which is a reason to run content by chromatography instead.
Let the device reach ambient temperature before actuating, since cold solution is more viscous and spring-driven mechanisms deliver less against a viscous load. Gravimetric verification once per device, actuating onto a tared vessel and converting mass by solution density, is worth more than trusting a nominal volume.
What Does the AOD-9604 Literature Actually Report?
A small file: a handful of rodent mechanistic papers from one group, a human tolerability summary, and one adequately powered obesity trial that did not beat placebo, after which development stopped in 2007.
Ng 2000 reported that the synthetic lipolytic domain reduced weight gain and raised adipose lipolytic activity in obese rats. Heffernan 2001, published in both Endocrinology and the International Journal of Obesity, reported that chronic treatment of obese and beta-3-adrenoceptor knockout mice increased fat oxidation and reduced body-fat gain, and that the effect did not appear to run through the classical growth hormone receptor. The design intent was to keep the lipolytic action of the hormone’s C-terminus while dropping its growth-promoting and IGF-1-raising effects, and the knockout work is what supports that separation.
Stier 2013 summarised six clinical studies and reported that the hexadecapeptide was non-immunogenic with a tolerability profile indistinguishable from placebo. That is a tolerability record rather than an efficacy record, and the distinction is the whole story of this compound. A 12-week randomised study reported roughly 1.8 kg greater loss than placebo, but the 24-week trial that followed showed no significant difference in weight against placebo, and the programme was halted.
What has not been studied is specific. No adequately powered efficacy trial has succeeded, there are no long-term human data, no controlled trial of any preloaded fixed-concentration device, and no published pharmacokinetic half-life that this page can state as verified beyond the observation that clearance after parenteral delivery is rapid. The molecular target for the metabolic effect remains incompletely defined.
What Is the Safety and Regulatory Position?
AOD-9604 is approved in no jurisdiction: not in the United States, the European Union, Australia, Japan or Canada, and development was discontinued in 2007, so this research preparation is not and cannot be an approved product.
In the United States an injectable peptide of this kind is handled as an unapproved new drug. AOD-9604 is not a lawful dietary-supplement ingredient in an injectable presentation, and marketing of the molecule as a cosmetic or topical ingredient by other parties confers no drug approval. Its specific status on the 2023 FDA list of peptides nominated for 503A compounding was not verified for this page and should be confirmed before any claim is made about it.
For sport the position is settled in practice if not in citation here. AOD-9604 has been treated as prohibited, and it became publicly known through the 2013 Essendon Australian Football League anti-doping case rather than through any approval. The exact class citation was not verified for this page, so athletes and sport researchers should check the current year’s list directly.
The compound is supplied for laboratory research only. Reported tolerability in six clinical studies was recorded with characterised trial material under monitoring, and says nothing about any vendor-filled solution, none of which has published identity, purity or stability data.
Published Literature
Each reference below was confirmed at source rather than copied from a secondary list. The list is short because the peer-reviewed record for this compound is short.
- Heffernan MA, Summers RJ, Thorburn AW, et al. Endocrinology. 2001;142(12):5182-5189. DOI: 10.1210/endo.142.12.8522 PMID: 11713213
- Ng FM, Sun J, Sharma L, et al. Hormone Research. 2000;53(6):274-278. DOI: 10.1159/000053183 PMID: 11146367
- Heffernan MA, Thorburn AW, Fam B, et al. International Journal of Obesity and Related Metabolic Disorders. 2001;25(10):1442-1449. DOI: 10.1038/sj.ijo.0801740 PMID: 11673763
- Jiang WJ, et al. In: Peptides: The Wave of the Future. 2001:714-715. DOI: 10.1007/978-94-010-0464-0_333
- Stier H, Vos E, Kenley D. Journal of Endocrinology and Metabolism. 2013;3(1-2):7-15. DOI: 10.4021/jem157w
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the aod 9604 pen?
A preloaded 3ml research autoinjector holding 6mg of AOD-9604 in solution at 2mg/ml, which is 1.10 mM. No reconstitution step is needed. AOD-9604 is the 16-residue [Tyr]-hGH(177-191) analogue with one Cys7-Cys14 disulfide. Supplied strictly for laboratory research; no approved product exists in any jurisdiction.
Does AOD 9604 come in a pen?
Only as a research-use-only device such as this one. The compound has never been approved, so no pharmaceutical pen exists and none is in development; the sponsor discontinued the programme in 2007 after a 24-week obesity trial failed to separate from placebo. Every preparation on sale is a vendor fill.
What does each increment deliver?
At 2 mg/ml, a 0.01 ml increment carries 20 micrograms, which is 11.0 nanomoles, and a 0.1 ml increment carries 200 micrograms or 110 nanomoles. The graduation resolution of this specific device is not stated on the product record and must be confirmed before those figures are applied.
What is the molar concentration of the solution?
1.10 millimolar, from 2 mg/ml divided by the molecular weight of 1815.1 g/mol. Adipocyte assays of the kind behind Heffernan 2001 and Ng 2000 work at micromolar to nanomolar peptide, so the fill sits roughly a thousand to a million times above them and needs a long serial dilution.
Why does the disulfide matter more than oxidation here?
Because the Cys7-Cys14 bond is the only labile feature of consequence. There is no methionine, tryptophan, asparagine or aspartate in the sequence, so the fast peptide routes are absent. Reduction, thiol-disulfide exchange and base-catalysed beta-elimination are what change this molecule in water.
Can the disulfide scramble into a different isomer?
No, and that is unusual. With only two cysteines there is a single possible intramolecular pairing, so exchange cannot produce a misfolded monomer. It can only link molecules together, which is why the degradation products are covalent dimers at 3630 Da and higher oligomers rather than isomers.
What governs AOD 9604 solution stability in a cartridge?
Redox environment, pH and light. Trace reductant or trace metal starts thiol-disulfide exchange; pH above neutral accelerates beta-elimination of the disulfide; ultraviolet light photolyses disulfides to thiyl radicals. Storage at 2-8°C, protected from light, without freezing, addresses all three as far as handling can.
AOD 9604 pen vs vial: which suits which work?
The pen suits repeated equal draws from one lot, avoiding the repeated air and diluent exposure that starts thiol chemistry. The lyophilized vial suits work where buffer composition is part of the experiment, where a chelator is wanted to suppress metal-catalysed exchange, or where the start concentration must be far below 1.10 mM.
What is not stated on the product record?
The excipient system, the solution pH, the fill date, and the disulfide state at release. The last is specific to this peptide: a purity percentage by peak area does not report how much material is closed-loop monomer. Request a free-thiol figure or the non-reduced peak assignment from the certificate.
How can the contents be confirmed intact?
By three measurements. Intact-mass LC-MS should read 1815.1 Da average, with the reduced form at 1817.1 and the covalent dimer at 3630. Ellman’s assay with DTNB quantifies free thiol at 412 nm and should show close to none. Reversed-phase HPLC separates monomer, dimer and reduced species.
Can this peptide be quantified by absorbance at 280 nm?
Weakly. One tyrosine and no tryptophan give an extinction coefficient near 1,600 per molar per centimetre including cystine, so the neat 1.10 mM solution reads about 1.8 absorbance units in a 1 cm path. That supports a content check against a standard, not detection of a small loss.
How is AOD-9604 different from the plain 176-191 fragment?
By one residue. AOD-9604 carries an N-terminal tyrosine where the native fragment carries phenylalanine. That is a 15.99 Da difference, identical to a single oxygen addition, so intact mass alone cannot separate this peptide from an oxidised batch of the other. Sequencing or reference co-elution is required.
What does AOD 9604 cost per milligram?
The figure sits on each product record because it changes. The comparison worth making is cost per milligram of peptide confirmed by certificate of analysis, across this device, the lyophilized vial and the nasal presentation, with the disulfide state reported alongside the purity rather than assumed from it.
What did the human trials report?
Stier 2013 summarised six clinical studies and reported the peptide was non-immunogenic with tolerability indistinguishable from placebo. A 12-week randomised study reported roughly 1.8 kg greater loss than placebo, but the 24-week trial that followed showed no significant weight difference against placebo. Development was discontinued in 2007.
What do the animal studies report?
Ng 2000 reported reduced weight gain and raised adipose lipolytic activity in obese rats. Heffernan 2001 reported increased fat oxidation and reduced body-fat gain in obese and beta-3-adrenoceptor knockout mice under chronic treatment, with the effect apparently not running through the classical growth hormone receptor.
Does it act like growth hormone?
It was designed not to. The molecule reproduces the C-terminal lipolytic domain of human growth hormone while omitting the regions responsible for growth promotion, IGF-1 elevation and insulin antagonism. Heffernan 2001 reported the metabolic effect in knockout models without the growth-related actions of the intact hormone.
Is AOD-9604 approved or permitted in sport?
Approved nowhere, and treated as prohibited in sport. It is not an approved medicine in the United States, European Union, Australia, Japan or Canada, and it became publicly known through the 2013 Essendon Australian Football League anti-doping case. The exact class citation was not verified here; check the current list.
Compliance Statement
The AOD-9604 autoinjector is sold exclusively for laboratory research use. It is not a drug, food, or cosmetic product, and it is not a dietary product of any kind. It is not approved by the FDA or any comparable authority for human or veterinary use. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. It must not be given to humans or animals. Purchase is restricted to qualified researchers and institutions operating within applicable laws. All handling is the responsibility of the purchasing laboratory.
Other formats of AOD-9604
AOD-9604 is also stocked as HGH Fragment 176-191 10mg preloaded 3ml pen. Each listing states its own quantity and concentration, and the pen and vial comparison explains what changes between formats.

























Reviews
There are no reviews yet.